Academic Calendar, 2016-2017

Monday, Sept 12, Private Lessons Begins

Saturday, Sept 17, Group Classes Begin

Monday, Nov 21 – Sunday, Nov 27, Thanksgiving Break: No Lessons or Group Class

Sunday, Dec 18 – Sunday, Jan 8, Winter Break: No Lessons or Group Class

Saturday, Feb. 18 – Friday,Feb 24, February Break: No Lessons or Group Class

Monday, April 17 – Friday, April 21, April Break; No Lessons or Group Class

Saturday, May 13, Last Day of Group Class

Friday, June 9, Last Day of Private Lessons

 

Student Concerts and Events

TBD, The Cartoon Festival

Saturday, Nov. 19, 5:00 PM, Solo Recital Day at Carriage House Violins

TBD, NEC Winter Concert

Saturday, April 8, 5:00 PM, Solo Recital Day at Carriage House Violins

TBD, NEC Spring Concert

 

Make-Up Policy

Students are allowed one make-up per semester when 24 hours notice is given to the teacher. In the event of an evening lesson, the student must contact the teacher by 5:00 on the previous day. Students are encouraged to arrange a lesson swap if they know that they will be missing a lesson.

If a teacher has offered a student at least three make-up times for a missed lesson and the student did not accept any of them, the student loses the make-up lesson.

Once a make-up lesson is scheduled it can not be rescheduled. A cancelled make-up lesson will not be rescheduled.

There will only be one snow day make up per year for lessons and classes cancelled due to inclement weather.

Any teacher absences will be rescheduled.

Group classes are unable to be made-up in the event of a student absence.

All make-up lessons must be completed by the end of the academic year. Any make-up lessons not completed by the end of the academic year will not be applied to future semesters.

 

Parent and Student Expectations:

Daily practice and listening.

Attendance at all lessons, group classes and concerts.

Bring all materials to weekly lessons and group classes.

Wash and cut nails before each lesson.

Attend as many live performances as possible.

Bring a smile and a positive attitude to your lessons!


“Knowledge is not skill. Knowledge plus 10,000 equals ability”

Dr. Shinichi Suzuki

To access your account Log-in here